Skip to content

Star-Studded ‘James and the Giant Peach’ Charity Read-Along Features Taika Waititi, Lupita Nyong’o & More

The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has impacted everyone. To help charities in need, The Roald Dahl Story Company is sponsoring a celebrity read-along of Roald Dahl’s famous children’s book, James and the Giant Peach.

The read-along is set to feature Lupita Nyong’o, Taika Waititi, Meryl Streep, Mindy Kaling, Cate Blanchett, Cara Delevingne, Ryan Reynolds, Chris Hemsworth, Liam Hemsworth, Benedict Cumberbatch, and many more.

James and the Giant Peach (Courtesy of Puffin Books/Artwork by Quentin Blake)

The Roald Dahl Story Company is donating over 1 million USD to charities like Roald Dahl’s Marvellous Children’s Charity that helps sick children in the UK, and the read-along itself is to help Partners in Health, a global effort that combats the medical and social tolls COVID-19 has inflicted on minorities.

Ophelia Dahl, daughter of the late author, remarked: “My dad instilled in us as kids the notion that imagination will spark a chain reaction of possibilities—we can dream endlessly about ideas and make them real. We’re so grateful to Taika Waititi and the Roald Dahl Story Company for pulling together this extraordinary initiative and amazing array of talent. It will undoubtedly help in the fight against the long-standing health inequities we see in many parts of the world. Thank you for your generosity.”

You can catch the first of the 10-episode series exclusively on The Roald Dahl Story Company YouTube channel. New episodes will be uploaded Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 10:00am PT, 1:00pm ET, and 6:00pm BST.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: