Skip to content

Naomi Ackie And Richard E. Grant Join ‘Star Wars: Episode IX’

The cast for Star Wars: Episode IX has been officially revealed, with faces old and new.

Returning cast members include Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Kelly Marie Tran, Adam Driver, Domhnall Gleeson, Lupita Nyong’o, Joonas Suotamo, and Billie Lourd.

Veteran Star Wars actors Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, and Billy Dee Williams will reprise their roles as Luke Skywalker, C-3PO, and Lando Calrissian, respectively.

British actress Naomi Ackie will be joining the cast for the sequel, along with Richard E. Grant. Keri Russell’s casting was also confirmed, after it was announced she was in talks a few weeks back. Ackie’ body of work is comprised primarily of television, including an episode of Doctor Who (“Face the Raven”).

It’s currently unknown who Ackie and Grant will be playing in the film, but based on the casting notice for Ackie’s character, it seems like she’ll be on the side of the resistance. And based on Grant’s body of work, it’s a no-brainer than to cast him as a villain.

Absent From th Cat list

Filming will commence on August 1, 2018 at Pinewood Studios in London. J.J. Abrams returns to direct the final installment of the Skywalker saga. Abrams co-wrote the screenplay with Chris Terrio.

John Williams, who has scored every chapter in the Skywalker saga since 1977’s A New Hope, will return to a galaxy far, far away with Episode IX. It will also be Williams’ last hurrah for the franchise.

Star Wars: Episode IX will be produced by Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Michelle Rejwan, and executive produced by Callum Greene and Jason McGatlin. Frequent Abrams collaborator Dan Mindel is returning as Director of Photography. Victoria Mahoney is serving as 2nd Unit Director, becoming the first black female director of the franchise.

Star Wars: Episode IX soars into theaters on December 20, 2019.


Leave a Reply