Skip to content

The CW Renews All Arrowverse Shows, Black Lightning, and More

10 series at The CW have secured early renewals for the 2018-2019 season. All of the Arrowverse shows will return–Arrow (Season 7), The Flash (Season 5), Supergirl (Season 4), Legends of Tomorrow (Season 4). The newcomer to the network’s slate of DC TV shows, Black Lightning, is also confirmed to return for its sophomore effort.

In addition to the superhero slate, five other series are receiving the green light early. Supernatural heads into its 14th season, Dynasty earns a second run, Crazy-Ex Girlfriend will return for a fourth season, Riverdale’s third effort is sure to be as drama-filled as the first two, and Jane the Virgin’s continued successes are seeing it garner a season five.

Arrowverse Poster Courtesy of The CW

Courtesy of The CW

With The CW extending its original programming to a Sunday-through-Friday schedule, a slew of possibilities exists with regards to what’s in store for the next season. Network president Mark Pedowitz said in a statement via Deadline:

“As The CW expands to a six-night, Sunday-through-Friday schedule next season, we are proud to have such a deep bench of great returning series for 2018-19. By picking these ten series up for next season, we have a terrific selection of programming to choose from when we set our fall schedule in May, with more still to come. And I’m especially happy that we’ll continue to work with the incredibly talented casts, producers, and writers who create the series our fans are so passionate about.”

Deadline’s Nellie Andreeva also notes that the network is possibly looking to expand its slate of DC television series further. If true, it is anyone’s guess as to which direction such expansion may take shape.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: