Skip to content

‘Get Out, Girls Trip’ Lead NAACP Image Award Movie Nominations

The 49th Annual NAACP Image Awards have officially kicked off awards season with the announcement of its nominees.

The awards which honor the best achievements by people of color in film, TV, music and literature.

In the movie categories the nominees are, not surprisingly, led by Get Out and Girls Trip, each with five nods. They will go up against one another for best picture alongside Detroit, Marshall and Roman J. Israel Esq.

In addition to competing against one another for outstanding motion picture, the films go head to head in outstanding directing and writing.

Comic book movies are represented by Idris Elba and Tessa Thompson nominated for supporting actor and actress for Thor: Ragnarok. Fans can also find the Black Panther himself Chadwick Boseman in the Entertainer of the Year race.

Here’s a full list of movie nominees:

Entertainer of the Year

Ava DuVernay
Bruno Mars
Chadwick Boseman
Chance the Rapper
Issa Rae

get out (2)

Daniel Kaluuya is nominated for Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture for his performance in Get Out.

Outstanding Motion Picture

Get Out
Girls Trip
Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture

Algee Smith – Detroit
Chadwick Boseman – Marshall
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Denzel Washington – Roman J. Israel, Esq.
Idris Elba – The Mountain Between Us

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture

Amandla Stenberg – Everything, Everything
Danai Gurira – All Eyez on Me
Halle Berry – Kidnap
Natalie Paul – Crown Heights
Octavia Spencer – Gifted


Tessa Thompson is nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actress for playing Valkyrie in Thor: Ragnarok. Source: Entertainment Weekly

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture

Idris Elba – Thor: Ragnarok
Laurence Fishburne – Last Flag Flying
Lil Rel Howery – Get Out
Nnamdi Asomugha – Crown Heights
Sterling K. Brown – Marshall

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture

Audra McDonald – Beauty and the Beast
Keesha Sharp – Marshall
Regina Hall – Girls Trip
Tessa Thompson – Thor: Ragnarok
Tiffany Haddish – Girls Trip

Outstanding Independent Motion Picture

Last Flag Flying
Professor Marston and the Wonder Women
Wind River

Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture

Dee Rees – Mudbound
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Malcolm D. Lee – Girls Trip
Reginald Hudlin – Marshall
Stella Meghie – Everything, Everything

Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture

Dee Rees, Virgil Williams – Mudbound
Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani – The Big Sick
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Kenya Barris, Tracy Oliver – Girls Trip
Mark Boal – Detroit

The 49th Annual NAACP Image Awards will live Monday, Jan. 15 on TV One and will once again be hosted by Blackish star Anthony Anderson.

Are you surprised by any of the nominees?

Source: Deadline

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: