Skip to content

M. Night Shyamalan Announces Sequel to ‘Unbreakable,’ ‘Split’

M. Night Shyamalan is known for his twist endings, but he still managed to surprise moviegoers when the end of Split revealed it took place in the same world as his film Unbreakable.

Now he is officially combining the two in a sequel. The director announced on Twitter that his next film Glass will be a sequel to both films. Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson will return from Unbreakable, while James McAvoy and Anya Taylor Joy will reprise their roles from Split.

For a refresher, Unbreakable is the story of David (Willis), a man who is the lone survivor of a tragic train crash and discovers that he has special abilities. He then meets the extremely fragile, wheelchair-bound Elijah (Jackson), who owns a comic book shop and coaches him on how to become a superhero. The twist comes when it’s revealed that Elijah is actually the one who caused the train crash because he sees himself as Mr. Glass, the villain of David’s hero story.


Samuel L. Jackson as Elijah in Unbreakable.

David reappeared at the end of Split watching a news report about the escape of McAvoy’s The Horde personalities. He mentions Mr. Glass in passing with another viewer.

It should be interesting to see how Shyamalan combines these stories, which took place 15 years apart.

No other returning characters or actors have been announced yet.

Glass is scheduled for release January 18, 2019.

Source: Deadline

Leave a Reply