Anthony Anderson To Host Post Oscars Special

Anthony Anderson has been on quite a roll lately. His hit ABC sitcom blackish is enjoying ratings and critical success and he has breathed new life into the game show classic To Tell the Truth.

Now he can add post Oscar special to his resume. Since Jimmy Kimmel is hosting the actual Oscars this year, he is unavailable to do his usual comedic spoof of the awards. That honor will now fall to Anderson who will host Live From Hollywood: The After Party Special.

The show is set to include backstage and red carpet interviews with the show’s big winners and will be co-hosted by Good Morning America’s Lara Spencer, ABC News’ Chris Connelly and Yahoo style editor Joe Zee.

Kimmel’s specials usually included celebrity packed movie spoofs, a segment with the Oscar host and of course a gag about his running feud with Matt Damon. Expect Anderson’s special to feature some of those same elements but with a little more of his cool comedy style.

Anderson is not new to hosting live events as he has hosted the NAACP Image Awards several times and has co-hosted the BET Awards with his blackish co-star Tracee Ellis Ross.

The Oscars airs Sunday, Feb. 26 at 7 pm ET/4 pm PT on ABC. Though that’s the time ABC says it’s coverage starts that’s actually when its red carpet show begins. The actual awards will start at 8:30pm ET/5:30 pm PT. Anderson’s special will air after the show.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s