2016 Nebula Awards Nominees

Today, there was an announcement of the nominees for the 2016 Nebula Awards. Nebula Awards are presented each year by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, to honor notable works of science fiction and fantasy. The winners will be announced during this year’s annual Nebula Conference, which will be held in Pittsburgh, PA from Thursday, May 18 to Sunday, May 21.

Here are the nominees:

All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)
Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)
Runtime, S.B. Divya (Tor.com Publishing)
The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson (Tor.com Publishing)
The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (Tor.com Publishing)
Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)
The Liar, John P. Murphy (F&SF 3-4/16)
A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com Publishing)
The Long Fall Up, William Ledbetter (F&SF 5-6/16)
Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed 2/16)
Red in Tooth and Cog, Cat Rambo (F&SF 3-4/16)
Blood Grains Speak Through Memories, Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies3/17/16)
The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (Tor.com Publishing)
You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny 5-6/16)
Short Story
Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
Seasons of Glass and Iron, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
Sabbath Wine, Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)
Things With Beards, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld 6/16)
This Is Not a Wardrobe Door, A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine 1/16)
A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers, Alyssa Wong (Tor.com 3/2/16)
Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed 3/16)
Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics
Doctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures
Kubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures
Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’, Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO
Zootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios
Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)
The Star-Touched Queen, Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)
The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)
Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor)
Railhead, Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)
Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)
The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman (Candlewick)

So, what do you think? Have you seen any of these films, or read these works of fiction? Do you have any predictions of this year’s winners? Let us know in the comments.


Image Credit to Nasa on Unsplash:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s